Robert Chambers Award Recipients

Joint Winners Robert Champbers Award 2022

Aditi Bhatia-Kalluri for her paper 'Mapping Trends for Sustainable Economic Development in the Global South: E-commerce as an Online Marketplace for Micro-Entrepreneurs in Rural India.'

Dr. Robert Gillanders and Dr Lisa van der Werff, for their paper 'Corruption Experiences and Attitudes to Political, Interpersonal, and Domestic Violence'. 

Aditi Bhatia KalluriAditi Bhatia-Kalluri is a Ph.D. Candidate at the Faculty of Information, University of Toronto. Her Ph.D. research examines mobile phone penetration and usage in the Global South, especially financial inclusion and digital payments. The research focuses on how digital policies shape information practices, such as adopting e-banking and e-commerce for marginalized communities. Her research tracks adaptation to mobile phones by auditing everyday user challenges in cashless transactions and finding gaps that lead to information asymmetry. Aditi earned a Master of Digital Media from Toronto Metropolitan University and B.A. Hons in New Media Studies from the University of Toronto.

Robert GillandersDr. Robert Gillanders is an associate professor of economics at DCU Business School. He is the co-founder and co-director of the DCU Anti-corruption Research Centre (ARC). He is Co-Principal Investigator of the IRC funded project "Corruption, Gender, and Sustainable Development" (COGS).  He has published extensively on the causes and consequences of corruption in journals including GovernanceSocial Science & Medicine, Public Choice, the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organisation, the Journal of Development Studies, and Small Business Economics.

Lisa van der WerffDr Lisa van der Werff is an Associate Professor of Organisational Psychology, Director of Doctoral Studies and Co-Director of the Irish Institute of Digital Business at DCU Business School. Her research focuses on trust and investigates the processes underlying relationships between colleagues, people and organisations and people and technology. Lisa has published her work in a range of academic journals (e.g., Academy of Management Journal, Journal of Management, Organization Science) and practitioner oriented outlets (e.g., Harvard Business Review). She is currently President of FINT (, Deputy Editor in Chief of the Journal of Trust Research and was recently admitted to the Young Academy of Ireland in recognition of her research impact. 

Winner Robert Chambers Award 2020

Silvia Masiero and Soumyo Das, for their paper 'Where ICT4D Meets Data Justice: A study of COVID-19 Tracking in India'

Silvia MasieroSilvia Masiero is an Associate Professor of Information Systems at the Department of Informatics, University of Oslo. Her research operates within the area of information and communication technology for development (ICT4D), with a focus on the role of digital platforms in socio-economic development processes. She has conducted extensive work on the computerisation of India’s main food security programme, the Public Distribution System (PDS), and on the adoption of ICTs in core aspects of the Indian public sphere including elections, rural employment guarantees and programmes of social protection. Silvia is Secretary of the International Federation for Information Processing IFIP 9.4 Working Group on Implications of Information and Digital Technologies for Development, a member of the Association for Information Systems (AIS), and a member of the Editorial Board at Information Technology for Development.

Soumyo Das headshotSoumyo Das is a Ph.D. student in Management at Emlyon Business School, France. His research focusses on organizational use of digital technologies in developing countries, and with a particular emphasis on organizational trust and institutional logics. He is also interested on research in Critical Management Studies and ICT4D. Soumyo engages with the virtual world as /soumyoin. 


Winner of Robert Chambers Award 2018

Mairéad Smith for her paper ‘The  Search for  Meaning  in  Memory  in  the Aftermath of Genocide: The Construction of Êzîdî Identity’

Winner of Robert Chambers Award 2017

Dr. Ibrahim Natil for his paperInternational NGOs: Women’s Engagement in Community Peace-building and Development


Winner of Robert Chambers Award 2016

Dr. Su-Ming Khoo for her paper “Rethinking development partnerships intellectually: cognitive justice matters"


Winner of Robert Chambers Award 2015

Dr. Padraig Carmody for his paper “E-colonisation and the politics of land grabbing in Uganda"